Home » My Stuff » Braised Chicken with Mushrooms

Braised Chicken with Mushrooms

When we lived in Milwaukee, we’d sometimes have dinner at my mom’s. When it was time to eat, she’d start pulling out dish after dish from her kitchen. This was usually one of those dishes. When I cooked it for dinner tonight it smelled like her house. Mike really liked it and told me he didn’t think I’d made it before. I had notes on the recipe in my cookbook though, so I must have. I told him I probably left the Chinese mushrooms out if I had made it before since I don’t like them. He however, LOVES them! I always try ONE bite of mushroom to see if maybe, just maybe, this time I’ll like them. This time wasn’t it. I know I’ve used them cut up pretty small in other recipes, but in this one, they were left in larger pieces. They come dehydrated and you have to soak them in hot water for 30 minutes to make them usable again. I added this soaking liquid to the pan when the chicken was braising instead of plain water. I think that did the trick.

braised chicken

 

The dish is pretty easy to make: Soak 6-10 whole Chinese mushrooms in hot water for 30 minutes to soften. Brown 1 whole, cut-up chicken on all sides in a deep skillet with some oil, garlic and ginger. Add the Chinese mushrooms, 1/2 cup soy sauce, 1/2 cup (or so) water or liquid from rehydrating your dried Chinese mushrooms, 1 Tbsp sugar and 1/2 tsp salt. Cover and cook for 30-45 minutes. Mix together 1 tsp cornstarch and 1 Tbsp water and add to braising liquid along with 3-4 green onions cut into 2″ lengths. Stir sauce until slightly thickened and serve.

2 thoughts on “Braised Chicken with Mushrooms

  1. This looks delicious. I have to admit though I’m a wimp. Do I have to cut up a whole chicken? Couldn’t I just use the packaged parts (thighs, legs, breasts wings)

    • The grocery store I went to (just down the street) didn’t have whole chickens so I bought 2 hind quarters and 1 whole bone-in breast. I still cut the pieces apart but it wasn’t as bad as cutting up the whole thing. It’s easy to do if you have a big enough cleaver! 🙂

Leave a Reply

