Home » My Stuff » Holy Guacamole!

Holy Guacamole!

Mike, Audrey and I FINALLY went to NewBo City Market in Cedar Rapids yesterday. It’s been open for a while and I decided we had to go check it out once and for all. There are two halves to it the market: one side with permanent food vendors (Mexican food, cupcakes, spices, ice cream, coffee, baked goods, and lots and lots of yummy stuff) and the other side with temporary vendors (food & craft) that can rent a spot for just that weekend. Our first stop was Iowa Soul Food Market’s spot (run by the same couple that owns Sweetiepie’s Chicken & Fish Fry with the BEST fried chicken and hush puppies) we tried chicken & waffles for the first time. The fluffy waffle, salty fried chicken & sweet maple syrup made for an interesting and delicious combination! Sorry there’s no picture of it. It disappeared right before I realized that I should have taken a picture of it!

We also tried cupcakes from That Cupcake Place. They were really dense, didn’t have butter cream frosting and just weren’t very good. Maybe I’m just a cupcake snob now, but if I’m paying more than $2 for a cupcake, I expect it to be better than something I could make myself.

20130421_131944Now on to our 3rd stop: the absolute best guacamole I’ve ever had in my entire life. I am NOT kidding. We purchased it from one of the temporary vendors. It’s called “Tim’s Holy Guacamole.” He had samples of lots of salsas (mostly), a ranch/salsa dip and guacamole. I saw that guacamole and headed straight for it. Then I had another sample, and another sample. It was so good I couldn’t stop sampling! The secret ingredient? BLUE CHEESE! Of course there’s the usual cilantro, tomatoes, onions, some spices and even bacon which I’ve put in my guacamole before. Tim handed me my purchased container of guacamole and said it also made a good spread on sandwiches. I believe I said under the influence of his most-excellent guacamole, “Forget that. I’m eating it straight from the container with a spoon.”

One thought on “Holy Guacamole!

Leave a Reply

