Home » My Stuff » Baked PORK Buns!

Baked PORK Buns!

Ladies and gentlemen…I present to you: Baked BBQ Buns!

Same filling as the steamed buns but different (much easier to handle but longer to prepare) dough and BAKED! These were absolutely a-mazing! According to the recipe, after baked, the buns can be frozen for up to 2 months. I think this small batch of 12 will be gone in 24 hours, though. The cookbook my pork bun recipes came from is “The Chinese Kitchen” by Eileen Yin-Fei Lo. A beautiful hardcover cookbook with lots of traditional Chinese recipes. I’m a little afraid to attempt to cook my way through this one, though. Here is the introduction from the book for this recipe:

This dum sum bun is perhaps the most well known outside of China. People who are not even familiar with the term or concept of dim sum know “pork buns.” I have over the years experimented with different fillings for this Cantonese classic baked bun, but the traditional pork filling remains my favorite.

Leave a Reply

