Home » Cooking Light » Steamed BBQ Pork Buns

Steamed BBQ Pork Buns

I have made these steamed buns many, many times with my mom’s recipe: marinated slices of pork slow-cooked and basted in the oven. Then I found this recipe from Cooking Light last March to make it in the slow cooker. GENIUS! When I enthusiastically told my mom about it she said, “but the pork will be mushy.” Well, it did shred very easily. But refrigerating it before chopping it up for the bun filling solved that issue. My mom’s recipe also used the shortcut of tube biscuits. Today I made the dough from scratch. It was pretty messy and tedious and I can’t say it was a huge improvement but now I can say I tried it! I tried to take a picture with one of them split open so you could see the delicious filling inside but they kept getting eaten…

There’s more filling left over for a batch of BAKED bbq pork buns later in the week. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Steamed BBQ Pork Buns

  1. I’ve made the dough myself and you are right, it is tedious and doesn’t taste much different from the tube biscuits. I think I’ll have to make some this weekend.

  2. So, do you just put the bbq roast inside the buns and bake them? I’ve never had these, but the roast recipe sounds amazing and the buns look yummy!! Remember, this is why YOU have the cooking blog and I don’t! 🙂

Leave a Reply

