Home » Sam the Cooking Guy » Book 2: Awesome Recipes & Kitchen Shortcuts » p. 53: Corn, Jalapeno & Cheese Biscuits

p. 53: Corn, Jalapeno & Cheese Biscuits

“Don’t like the jalapeno heat? You could leave them out, but I wouldn’t. I think it’s time to start appreciating new flavors – just try a little less of them.” -Sam

Too bad. I left the jalapenos out. Audrey was unsure of them anyway saying “I don’t like corn or cheese” so I knew if I put the jalapenos in, she would’ve said “no” for sure! I know. I could’ve made half of the biscuits with jalapeno and half without. Then I would’ve had to try harder to find jalapenos at the grocery store…or make a 2nd stop after I couldn’t find them at the bountiful produce section that is Wal-Mart.

Nonetheless, these were pretty good. Very similar to the ones at Red Lobster. I appreciated when we sat down to eat and Mike’s first words were, “Did you take a picture?” I served them on the side with some pan fried Tilapia, so it WAS kind of like a Red Lobster dinner…except I don’t think I’ll feel like my intestines are being tied up in knots at 3am.

RECIPE:
1 1/2 c. Bisquick (I used the self-rising flour from the beer bread. That was an okay substitution, right?)
1 T diced jalapeno
1 (8-oz) can creamed corn
1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl. Drop tablespoons of batter on a greased baking sheet and bake in a 400-degree oven for about 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

