p. 195: Shrimp Foo-Yung

I have to say, I was skeptical of this dish. I don’t think I’ve had it since I was in Junior High sitting in the back of the room at one of my mom’s Chinese cooking classes. Maybe it’s because I didn’t think Egg Foo-Yung was even an authentic Chinese dish. One Google search, however, and I was proven wrong. 

Instead of individual patties like you would get in a restaurant, this was one big one cut into 4 wedges. Kind of like a Chinese fritatta. In my case it was REALLY like a fritatta because instead of flipping the big egg patty like the recipe says, I cheated and put the skillet under the broiler for a few minutes. There was no way in you-know-what that the patty was going to stay whole if I attempted flipping it.

Mike also really liked it! He even asked how I made the gravy. My answer: “I opened a can of chicken gravy, heated it up in a pot and added a little soy sauce.” Sorry, Mom. I know it’s now how it’s really done but…Sam told me to do it!

Leave a Reply

