p. 156: Maple Chops

I made these pork chops for dinner last night. They marinated all day in maple syrup, soy sauce and garlic. Then I cooked them in a pan on the stove because it was just too hot to grill outside. Add a handful of bagged mixed greens with a little olive oil, salt & pepper and dinner was done in no time! Most of these recipes are pretty quick. I’m including the recipe although I never know if I should or not. Please let me know what you think!

1 c. maple syrup
4 T. soy sauce
2 fat cloves garlic, chopped fine
4 pork chops, bone in or out (Sam likes it in)

In a resealable bag, combine the syrup, soy sauce and garlic and mix well. Marinate the chops in 3/4 of the syrup-soy sauce mixture (reserving the rest for basting) for as long as you have – from 1 hour up to overnight (I didn’t read this part in its entirety and dumped all the marinade in the bag without any left to baste so I skipped that step and you would’ve never known). Preheat the grill to high. Grill the chops until done, about 10 to 12 minutes total, basting well with the reserved sauce during cooking. Crispy outside and tender inside – that’s your goal.

Leave a Reply

