Home » Sam the Cooking Guy » Book 1: Just a Bunch of Recipes » p. 189 (1), 212 (2): Meatball Strogy

p. 189 (1), 212 (2): Meatball Strogy

I made this 2 nights ago and am just posting about it now. Sorry. I’ve been busy…and tired. I know you’re probably having a hard time believing that since I spend my days merely working, cleaning, doing yard work, running errands, and taking care of a daughter, husband, 2 dogs and a cat. I should have nothing better to do with my time than blog…

Anyway! I made this for dinner and then was looking back through the books to see what I could make for the rest of the week when I found the same recipe (with 1/2 cup LESS sour cream – which is all I had so that’s all I used) in Sam’s 1st cookbook! Don’t worry. I’ve already written on his Facebook page to let him know about the duplication.

I made 2 substitutions and an addition to his recipe: it called for 1 lb frozen meatballs but I made my own because, again, I live a life of luxury, and 12 oz. jar beef gravy. I made mine using an envelope of gravy powder since it was cheaper. If I’m going to consume high amounts of preservatives and MSG, I’m not going to pay a lot – I suppose I could’ve made my own from the meatball drippings though. Drats! Then I added a small can of sliced mushrooms because I like mushrooms.

One thought on “p. 189 (1), 212 (2): Meatball Strogy

  1. I don’t work and only have to take care of one husband, one son and one cat.. and sometimes Andy gets the phone call at 4:30 to pick up a frozen pizza on the way home even though I have a refrigerator full of ingredients for a home made meal. Cooking a meal from scratch, even with convenience products, is work. While it would be great for me to read a new blog entry everyday, I would be amazed if you did actually do that! You are doing a great job and I’m enjoying reading about it.

Leave a Reply

