p. 93: The Popeye

Call it what you will: “Egg-in-the-Hole,” “Bird’s Nest”, “Toad in a Hole,” “One-eyed Soldiers,” and my favorite: “Ring Around the Yolky.” It’s a hole cut out of a piece of bread, put into a pan and cooked with an egg inside the hole. The last time I had this was probably Home Ec class in Junior High. I made it for breakfast this morning and it tasted better than I had ever remembered. Maybe it was because I followed the directions and melted butter in the pan instead of just spreading it on the bread, or maybe it’s because I forgot about it and let it cook until it was almost a little too brown. Whatever the reason, it was goooood!

Leave a Reply

